Reunion Island

POPULATION

With its origins in Africa, India, China and Europe, the Reunionese people is an exception in today’s world, where differences are often a source of conflict. Through their religions, customs and traditional knowledge, the different communities bring values of tolerance and respect to Reunionese life. With a population expected to reach one million by 2030, the island can be proud to see its people living in hamony.

CLIMATE

Located in the southern hemisphere, Reunion Island has a tropical climate, softened by the proximity of the Indian Ocean. The temperature on the coats varies between 65°F (18°C) and 90°F (32°C). It is sunny all year round. The summer: from November to April, it’s the hot, humid season. At altitude, the temperature varies between 59°F (15°C) and 75°F (24°C). The winter: from May to October, it’s the cool season. At altitude, the temperature may fall as low as 39°F (4°C) and rarely goes above 77°F (25°C). Above 1800 m (6 000 ft), frost is common, especially at night in July and August.

RELIGIONS

Do not be surprised to set eyes on a Christian church, a Tamil temple, a Muslim mosque, a Hindu temple or an African or Malagasy place of workship. Throughout the year, the different communities’ festivals are celebrated with respect.

HEALTH & SAFETY

The water is drinkable everywhere. Health services are provided throughout the island, in line with French standards. Reunion Island is the emergency medical platform for the entire Indian Ocean. All health professionals are available and there are 20 health facilities (hospitals and clinics) that accept the same medical insurance as mainland France. These facilities are equipped with sophisticated and modern equipment. Mediacal emergency service: dial 15.

TRANSPORTATION

Travelers can enjoy European standards high quality facilities. By car or by public transport, it is easy to get around the island. It is necessary to hold a European or international driver licence. The road network has 395 km of main roads, 800 km of minor roads and nearly 2000 km of municipal roads. This provides excellent drive conditions. Like in Europe, you must drive on the right, and laws are consistent with the French ones.

NOT TO BE MISSED

North: Domaine du Grand Hazier (Vanilla plantation), creole houses in rue de Paris in Saint-Denis
West: The lagoon, Saint-Paul’s outdoor market, village of Petite France/ Maïdo, Kelonia marine turtle observatory, Jardin Botanique de La Réunion (botanic garden).
South:Saint-Pierre by night, Entre-Deux, lifestyle and authenticity, la Saga du Rhum (museum and rum distillery), Manapany “a charming little place”, Cap Méchant.
East: Volcanic lava flows and Notre-Dame-des-Laves, Anse des Cascades, Grand Étang, tamil temples.
And of course, the 3 cirques:Mafate, Salazie, Cilaos ;the volcano and Plaine des Sables.

Offers

Lieu Réunion

POPULATION

Avec des origines africaines, indiennes, chinoises et européennes, les Réunionnais sont une exception au monde d’aujourd’hui dans lequel les différences sont souvent sources de conflits. À travers leurs religions, coutumes et savoir-faire traditionnels, les différentes communautés apportent leurs valeurs de tolérance et de respect à la vie réunionnaise. Avec une population qui devrait atteindre un million d’ici 2030, l’île peut être fière de voir son peuple vivre en harmonie.

CLIMAT

Située dans l’hémisphère sud, l’île de la Réunion a un climat tropical adouci par la proximité de l’océan Indien. Sur les côtes, les températures varient entre 18°C (65°F) et 32°C (90°F). Le soleil est présent toute l’année. L’été : de novembre à avril, il s’agit de la saison chaude et humide. En altitude, les températures varient entre 15°C (59°F) et 24°C (75°F). L’hiver : de mai à octobre, c’est la saison fraîche. En altitude, les températures peuvent descendre jusqu’à 4°C (39°F) et excèdent rarement les 25°C (77°F). Au-delà de 1 800 m (6 000 pieds), les gelées sont courantes, en particulier la nuit en juillet et en août.

RELIGIONS

Ne soyez pas surpris de rencontrer des églises chrétiennes, des temples tamouls, des mosquées, des temples hindous ou des lieux de culte africains ou malgaches. Tout au long de l’année, les festivals des différentes communautés ont lieu dans le respect.

SANTE & SECURITE

L’eau est potable partout. Des services de santé sont disponibles sur toute l’île conformément aux normes françaises. L’île de la Réunion est la plateforme médicale d’urgence pour tout l’océan Indien. Tous les types de professionnels de santé sont disponibles et l’île compte 20 établissements de santé (hôpitaux et cliniques) qui acceptent les mêmes systèmes d’assurance médicale qu’en France métropolitaine. Ces établissements sont équipés de matériel sophistiqué et moderne. Numéro du service médical d’urgence : 15.

TRANSPORTS

Les touristes peuvent bénéficier de services de qualité aux normes européennes. Il est facile de parcourir l’île en voiture ou en transports en commun. Vous devez avoir un permis de conduire européen ou international. Le réseau routier consiste en 395 km de routes principales, 800 km de routes secondaires et 2 000 km de routes municipales. Il offre d’excellentes conditions routières. Comme en Europe, vous devez conduire à droite et respecter le code de la route français.

À NE PAS MANQUER

Nord : Domaine du Grand Hazier (vanilleraie), maisons créoles de la rue de Paris à Saint-Denis
Ouest : le lagon, le marché extérieur de Saint-Paul, les villages de Petite France/Maïdo, l’observatoire des tortues marines de Kélonia, le Jardin botanique de la Réunion.
Sud :Saint-Pierre la nuit, l’Entre-Deux, le mode de vie et l’authenticité, la Saga du Rhum (musée et distillerie de rhum), Manapany « ti coin charmant », le Cap Méchant.
Est  : les coulées de lave et Notre-Dame-des-Laves, l’Anse des Cascades, le Grand Étang, les temples tamouls.
Et bien entendu, les 3 cirques :Mafate, Salazie, Cilaos ; le volcan et la Plaine des Sables.

Siteweb : reunion.fr

Les offres