THE 1ST PACKAGE TO COMBINE VISITS TO TWO ISLANDS AND GOLF TOURNAMENTS FOR THE GOLF PRO-AM 2017

 

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

Participants in the Vanilla Islands Golf Pro-Am 2017

DAY 1 – STANDARD BANK VANILLA ISLANDS PRO-AM – TAMARINA – MAURITIUS

The first stage of the Vanilla Islands Pro-Am Tour kicked off in glorious sunshine.  The 10 French and European teams were welcomed to the truly idyllic location of the magnificent Tamarina Golf Club. This 18-hole championship course (par 72), designed by architect Rodney Wright, combines technical holes with spectacular natural surroundings with viewpoints of the Rempart Mountain and Tamarin Bay. The Tamarina course is 6886m long and covers some 206 hectares. Everything has been carefully considered to ensure that golfers can enjoy excellent facilities and services. The golfers of the Vanilla Islands Pro-Am Tour were keen to praise the quality of the tournament’s services and organisation.

The first round began in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, with monkeys watching over the 13th and 14th holes to add an exotic touch to the day. As the Signature Hole of Tamarina Golf Club, the 13th hole was chosen for the “nearest to the pin” competition. Benjamin Legueux of Pro Patrice Barquez’s team won it. At the end of the first day, it was Pro Guillaume Lahey’s team, with Emilie and Alfred Seydoux and Bruno Gaccio, which led after the initial stage with a score of 92. They received prizes from the competition’s partners at the cocktail party at the end of the day. The competition has begun.

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017
ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

DAY 2 – STANDARD BANK VANILLA ISLANDS PRO-AM – TAMARINA – MAURITIUS

The Standard Bank Vanilla Islands Pro-Am consists of 2 stages of 54 holes with 6 rounds of golf in total. The ranking is calculated by adding the 2 best gross and net balls per hole. The net score takes precedence over the gross score. The Stabelford scoring system is used with a handicap with an index limit of 36. And so the second day of competition began at Tamarina Golf Club.

The course was more difficult to play than on the first day due to an ever-present breeze, but the team led by Pro Eric Zancanaro and his partners Valérie Gulyas, Jean-Jacques Pons and Claude Carbonneau played well. An excellent performance for the team saw them finish with a score of 85, having finished in 6th place the previous day (79).

Having come top on the first day, Guillaume Lagey’s team finished in second place. There’s plenty left to play for in Mauritius: Guillaume Lagey’s team will have to maintain their advance, 8 net strokes ahead of the team led by Patrice Barquez, hot on the their heels, having finished in 2nd and 3rd place during the first two rounds. The third day is set to prove decisive. The monkeys on the 12th and 13th holes didn’t manage to bring the golfers the same luck as they had the day before. We’re looking forward to seeing what happens tomorrow !

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

The day’s results can be found here

DAY 3 – STANDARD BANK VANILLA ISLANDS PRO AM – TAMARINA – MAURITIUS

The third and final day of the competition on Mauritian soil.

Despite a very friendly and good-natured atmosphere, the tension was palpable this morning between the top two teams. After a coaching session with his teammates, the team led by Patrice Barquez finally won with a score of 89. With 256 points, they’re ahead of Guillaume Lagey’s team, their nearest competition, by just 3 points. Eric Zancanaro and his teammates finished in 3rd place. Valerie Gulyas won the “nearest to the pin” competition on the 13th hole: 1.96m away. There’s still time for things to change during this Pro-Am. Everything is still to play for during the second stage in Réunion.

Today brought good and bad news regarding the golf course’s friendly monkeys. The good news: they kindly and politely put Bruno Gaccio’s mobile phone back into his bag, in the exact place he’d left it! And the bad news? Some of them missed the day’s competition, having eaten too many anti-inflammatories. They’d got them mixed up with the mobile phone. We’re sorry to leave the primates at the fantastic Tamarina Golf Club as we make our way to the next stage in Réunion. The 4th round of the Vanilla Islands Pro-Am Tour 2017 begins on 26 November at the Bassin Bleu Golf Club.

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

The day’s results can be found here

DAY 4 – VANILLA ISLANDS PRO-AM TOUR – BASSIN BLEU GOLF CLUB – RÉUNION

After three days of competition in Mauritius, the 4th stage of the Vanilla Islands Pro-Am Tour began at the Bassin Bleu Golf Club in Réunion. The players enjoyed an unusual course in the hills of Saint Gilles, known for its technical difficulty. Having played host to a well-known Open tournament for professionals the day before, this 18-hole golf course will leave players with unforgettable memories of its 9 holes overlooking the sea and 9 holes set in a lush forest of eucalyptus trees. The day wasn’t easy for the teams, particularly the 4th hole. The ravine which crosses the course seemed to attract golf balls. There’s now an entire basket of balls there for anyone who wants to practice… We left the monkeys behind at Tamarina Golf Club in Mauritius but a few nostalgic players brought stuffed toy monkeys to accessorise their drivers when teeing off this morning. The wildlife here seemed to appreciate the golf. This time at Bassin Bleu, cats and chickens paid the golfers a visit. The day came to a close as the sun set with victory for the team led by Patrice Barquez. Just two days left for the other teams, particularly Guillaume Lagey’s team (2nd in net scores), to try to make up the 11 points by which they trail. Tomorrow, the penultimate round of this competition will be played at Bourbon Golf Club in L’Étang Salé: a different setting for yet another golfing experience in the Vanilla Islands.

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

The day’s results can be found here

DAY 5 – VANILLA ISLANDS PRO-AM TOUR – BOURBON GOLF CLUB – RÉUNION

The penultimate stage of the Vanilla Islands Pro-Am Tour was held on the greens of Bourbon Golf Club in L’Étang Salé. The players teed off at the first of the course’s 18 holes (par 72) in blazing sunshine. The club was founded in 1969, making it one of the oldest on the island of Réunion. Designed by the famous architect Michel Gayon, Bourbon Golf Club in L’Étang Salé is an “inland” course with a classic, open but technical design with many raised greens and about fifty cleverly placed bunkers. Its endemic vegetation and its geographical position make it a unique golf course and one of the most impressive tourist sites in Réunion.

After four days of competition and with the additional obstacle of the heat, signs of fatigue began to show. The team of locals led by Jean Philippe Welter outclassed everyone in these conditions with a score of 97, 16 points more than the next team! They remain in the lead in Réunion. There’s just one day of competition left at Bassin Bleu Golf Club which will decide the definitive rankings. Despite the competition, this event (which is available as a tourist package) was good-natured from start to finish. The golfers enjoyed the sport they love so much as part of their holiday to the Indian Ocean.

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

The day’s results can be found here

VANILLA ISLANDS GOLF PRO AM 2017, LE 1er PACKAGE ALLIANT VISITES & COMPÉTITIONS DE GOLF ENTRE DEUX ÎLES

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

Les participants au Vanilla Islands Pro AM

JOUR 1 – STANDARD BANK VANILLA ISLANDS GOLF PRO AM 2017  – tour 1 – TAMARINA – ÎLE MAURICE

C’est sous un grand soleil que débute la 1ère étape du Vanilla Islands Golf Pro Am 2017.  Accueillies sur le magnifique Green du Tamarina, les 10 équipes venant de France et d’Europe ont découvert un site idyllique. Ce parcours de championnat 18 trous (Par 72) a été dessiné par l’architecte Rodney Wright. Il mêle technicité et décor naturel spectaculaire, avec de superbes points de vue sur la montagne du Rempart et la Baie de Tamarin. Fort de ses 6886m de long, le Tamarina s’étend sur 206 hectares. 
Tout était pensé pour que les golfeurs passent un moment agréable grâce à des infrastructures et services de qualité. Ainsi, les golfeurs du Vanilla Islands Pro Am tour n’ont d’ailleurs pas hésités à saluer la qualité des services et de l’organisation.

C’est dans une ambiance sereine et conviviale que s’est déroulée cette première étape sous l’œil des singes présents aux trous 13 et 14. Ces spectateurs ont apporté une touche exotique à cette journée.

Trou Signature du Tamarina Golf Club, le “13” faisait l’objet d’un prix « Nearest to the pin ». Au final, c’est Benjamin LEGUEUX, de l’équipe du PRO Patrice BARQUEZ, qui a remporté ce concours. Mais c’est l’équipe du Pro Guillaume LAHEY, accompagné d’Emilie et Alfred SEYDOUX et de Bruno GACCIO, qui a remporté l’étape. Leur score de 92 leur a valu de recevoir des lots de la part des partenaires de la compétition. La journée s’est terminée par un cocktail sur la plage. La compétition est lancée.

 

 

 

 

 

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017
ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

JOUR 2 – STANDARD BANK VANILLA ISLANDS PRO AM – TAMARINA – ÎLE MAURICE

Le Standard Bank Vanilla Islands Pro Am est une formule de 2 fois 54 Trous, sur 6 tours de compétition. Le classement est opéré par addition des 2 meilleures balles en Brut et en Net par trou. Le net primant le brut. Par ailleurs, le jeu se fait en Stabelford avec un handicap limité à l’index 36. Ce sont sur ces bases que la deuxième journée a démarré sur le green du Tamarina.

Le parcours était rendu plus difficile que la veille en raison d’un vent très présent. C’est l’équipe menée par le Pro Eric Zancanaro et ses partenaires Valérie Gulyas, Jean-Jacques Pons et Claude Carbonneau qui ont tiré leur épingle du jeu. Il s’agit d’une belle performance pour l’équipe gersoise, qui se replace dans le tournoi avec très bon 85. Ils avaient terminés à la 6ème place du classement la veille (79).

L’équipe de Guillaume Lagey, gagnante de la première journée, termine sur la deuxième place du podium. Rien n’est donc joué pour l’étape Mauricienne. Il faudra que l’équipe de Guillaume Lagey maintienne le cap. Elle n’a que 8 coups d’avance en net sur l’équipe menée par Patrice Barquez. Cette dernière a fini à la 2ème et 3ème place sur les 2 premiers tours et se trouve en embuscade. La troisième journée sera donc décisive. Nos amis les singes n’ont pas rapporté la poire qu’ils avaient emprunté la veille. Nous attendrons de voir ce qu’ils feront demain.

 

 

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

Les résultats du jours se trouvent ici

JOUR 3 – STANDARD BANK VANILLA ISLANDS PRO AM – TAMARINA – ÎLE MAURICE

Troisième et dernière journée de compétition sur le sol Mauricien.

Malgré une ambiance très chaleureuse et bon enfant, une certaine tension était palpable ce matin entre les deux équipes de tête du classement. Après un coaching serré de ses coéquipiers, l’équipe menée par Patrice Barquez a enlevé le duel à distance avec un score de 89. Avec 256 points ils devancent leurs poursuivants, le groupe de Guillaume Lagey de 3 petits points. Eric Zancanaro et ses collègues finissent quant à eux sur la 3ème marche du podium. Enfin, c’est Valerie Gulyas qui a réalisé la performance sur le « closest to the pin » du trou signature 13, à 1,96m.

Rien n’est donc encore joué pour ce pro-am. Tout est encore possible lors de la seconde étape sur l’île de La Réunion.

Du côté de nos amis les singes, une bonne et une mauvaise nouvelle font l’actualité du jour. Tout d’abord, ils ont eu la courtoisie et l’élégance de remettre le téléphone portable de Bruno Gaccio dans son sac personnel. Ils ont poussé le détails par le remettre  à l’endroit exact où ce dernier l’avait laissé ! Pour la mauvaise nouvelle, certains d’entre eux avaient décidé de bouder la compétition du jour. Ils ont effet effectués une consommation excessive d’anti-inflammatoires. Ils les avaient confondus avec le fameux téléphone. C’est avec un certain regret que nous abandonnons les primates sur le magnifique parcours du Tamarina. Nous nous dirigeons vers la prochaine étape sur l’île de La Réunion. Rendez-vous le 26 novembre prochain au Golf du Bassin Bleu pour le 4ème tour du Vanilla islands Pro Am Tours 2017.

 

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

Les résultats du jours se trouvent ici

JOUR 4 – VANILLA ISLANDS PRO AM TOURS – GOLF DU BASSIN BLEU – ÎLE DE LA RÉUNION

Après trois jours de compétition à Maurice, la 4ème étape du Vanilla Islands Pro Am Tours a été lancée aujourd’hui sur l’île de La Réunion. Ainsi, sur les hauteurs de Saint Gilles, au golf du bassin bleu, les joueurs ont découvert un parcours réputé pour sa difficulté technique. Ce green avec son parcours de 18 trous, dont 9 face à la mer et 9 au cœur d’une forêt verdoyante d’eucalyptus, laissera aux participants un souvenir sportif inoubliable. En effet, la journée n’a pas été de tout repos pour les équipes et en particulier sur le trou numéro 4. Ainsi, le lit de la ravine traversant le parcours a été très attirant pour les balles de golf. Désormais il est possible d’y trouver un panier entier de balles pour vos practices… Nous avions laissé derrière nous les singes du Tamarina à Maurice mais quelques nostalgiques ont ramené des peluches à leur effigie. Ainsi nous avons pu voir qu’ils étaient présents et accrochés sur plusieurs drivers au départ de ce matin. Les animaux semblent apprécier la vie golfique. Au Bassin Bleu, ce sont cette fois des chats et des poules qui ont rendu visite aux golfeurs. La journée s’est achevée au coucher de soleil et a vu la victoire de l’équipe menée par Patrice Barquez. Bien qu’il ne reste que deux jours, les poursuivants menés par Guillaume Lagey (2ème en net) essaye de refaire leur retard de 11 points. Demain, l’avant dernier tour de cette compétition se jouera au Golf de Bourbon à l’Etang Salé dans un cadre différent mais qui offrira une nouvelle vision du golf dans les îles vanille.

 

 

 

 

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

Les résultats du jours se trouvent ici

JOUR 5 – VANILLA ISLANDS PRO AM TOURS – GOLF CLUB DE BOURBON – ÎLE DE LA RÉUNION

L’avant dernière étape du Vanilla Islands Pro Am Tours se déroulait sur le green du Golf Club de Bourbon à l’Etang Salé. C’est sous un soleil de plomb que les joueurs se lancèrent sur les 18 trous du parcours ( par 72). Sa création en 1969, fait de lui le plus ancien de l’île de La Réunion. Dessiné par le célèbre architecte Michel Gayon, le Golf de l’Etang Salé est un parcours « in-land » (forestier). Bien que son dessin soit classique, il est franc et technique en raison de nombreux greens surélevés et d’une cinquantaine de bunkers judicieusement placés. Par ailleurs, sa végétation endémique et son positionnement géographique en font un parcours de golf unique et un des sites touristiques remarquables.
Après quatre jours de compétition, la fatigue commence à se faire sentir et la chaleur est ici un obstacle supplémentaire.
Au final, l’équipe des locaux menée par Jean Philippe Welter a dans ces conditions surclassé tout le monde avec un score de 97. Cela représente 16 points de plus que pour l’équipe suivante ! Ils conservent ainsi la tête de l’étape réunionnaise. Il ne reste plus désormais qu’une journée de compétition, au golf du bassin bleu pour définitivement sceller les classements. Malgré la compétition, c’est la bonne humeur qui l’emporte sur cette manifestation qui rappelons-le est un package touristique. Ainsi, les golfeurs sont venus passer des vacances dans l’océan indien tout en pratiquant leur passion.

 

 

 

ARTICLE-Golf pro-am 2017

Les résultats du jours se trouvent ici

Tags : , , , , ,